The Americas region is a large area covering 28% of the worlds land area. There are 23 countries in the North including the United States, Canada, Mexico and 12 countries in the South; including Brazil, Argentina, Chili, Peru. There is significant climatic variability and so the range of animals across the Americas from north to south is diverse.